雪月花

機巧少女は傷つかない – 復活‼

23 Comments

Hello, Azure here.

Yes, this is really happening and yes it’s not some kind of prank. I am coming back after a 6-year break to finish translating Unbreakable Machine Doll, but this time translating everything to English directly.

Why? Because I have finally found some comfortable space and time in my life to settle down and do the stuff I once enjoyed in total tranquility.

6 years ago, I had started making UMD summaries about volume 4 and 5. At that time, there was another English translator doing an English version of the series, which is why I decided to work on the series by doing a Spanish translation. This Spanish translation got to volume 7, and that’s where I stopped it.

However, after some more years, the previous English translator decided to drop the project entirely and remove his translations.

Some years later, another translator appeared, called Taekan. This translator took the previous English translation and decided to restart it from volume 5, going up to almost midway through volume 7. After speaking with Taekan personally, we accorded that I would be taking the translation continuing from where he left it, as I can fully dedicate my time entirely to Machine doll unlike him, that handles several series.

That’s basically the gist of it. Before contacting Taekan, I had already translated more than half of volume 8 into English, so by the time you are reading this post, you will find that all my blog has been translated to match the language and that volume 8 is already out, posted and fully translated here.

Regardless, I will first prioritize finishing the English translation of volume 7, so you can expect it being posted in the following days. You will also find there are several external links in the different volume pages that will get you to either the English or Spanish translation of Machine doll.

The translation updates will be done through this page directly for now. I may open a Discord server along the way, but that is something still underway.

About the translation:

Although I will be taking over what Taekan had previously done, you will have to consider we both have different translation styles, as many translators do. Probably one of the most noticeable differences you will find is that I usually don’t tend to translate Raishin’s battle formation commands or magic circuit names, like Yaya’s Kongouriki (Super strength).

Regardless, this blog also has a special section in the form of a Terminology page that I will keep updating as I go through the translation of the other volumes, which I intend it to serve as some sort of wiki for the most important terms in the UMD lore. I specially recommend reading about the Fuurinkazan Formations, but do keep in mind these terminology pages may contain volume 8 spoilers.

Regarding the proper English quotation/punctuation,etc: I usually ignore it to maintain the Japanese-style counterpart in most parts of my translations, because that’s how I like it when I read it from a light novel compared to other western books. It’s also the reason why I deliberately don’t build my own PDFs or EPUBs. The main reason for this is because I like it that way, but also because I tend to ignore it to prioritize the speed of my translation. Regardless, I know some people may not like this, which is why I will be looking for a volunteer to QC what I translate and mainly to fix these things if enough people prefer it that way. Although this won’t be a priority and it will not affect the speed at which I can pump out new chapters.

I intend to continue with volume 9 onwards after finishing with volume 7.

PD: my translator name is Azure. Just try to use that for any reference to other sites.

– Recruitment –

Having said that, there are some things that could be polished, but they are not really anything necessary, nor will any of these roles hinder the speed at which I will translate things. These roles are no more than just a commodity. However, if someone is interested in the following, you can send me a message or leave me a comment down below:

  • Image editor
  • Translation QC editor – must be a native English speaker
  • Spanish translator

That’s about it for now. Here’s for hoping that the restart of this project goes as smoothly as I intend it to be.

Para mis antiguos lectores españoles:

Han pasado tres mil años. Si estás aquí después de todos estos años de haber leído mi traducción, pues te lo agradezco y realmente espero que seas capaz de leer ingles ahora, no solo por mi mensaje de arriba, sino también para que puedas disfrutar de la nueva traducción al inglés de Machine Doll.

Este blog solo contendrá traducciones al inglés a partir de la fecha, pero si alguien se anima a traducir lo que hago al español, pues está más que bienvenido y me gustaría incluso poner un link a sus traducciones en este mismo blog, junto a las inglesas.

Espero que puedan disfrutar de las traducciones de algún modo u otro.

23 thoughts on “機巧少女は傷つかない – 復活‼

  1. Good luck on your translation!
    I hope Unbreakable Machine-Doll can reach the status of Completed and for the fans of the series to read how it ends.

  2. Thanks for continuing this. Now Taekan’s burden will be lessened.

    If you don’t mind then I can create the epubs

  3. Welcome back and thanks for picking up the series again!

  4. Do you not know how to use quotation marks or is that a stylistic choice? If you are going to translate to English, I hope you stick to English punctuations as well. Good luck.

    • All the quotation, punctuation and etcetera you will find in my translations is a deliberate stylish choice I choose to maintain from the Japanese, because I like it that way.
      Regardless, you are very well welcomed to apply for the English QC position yourself if you wish to invest the time to make a proper-English punctuated version of my translation for the people like you.
      Thanks for your support.

  5. That’s great to hear, even more so you enjoy doing this. Can’t wait!

  6. Great to know this LN will have more requently released and glad you and Taekan have reached a deal with this LN. Can’t wait to see more chapter for this LN

  7. Que onda mi bro, yo ando interesado en la traducción del volumen al español, tengo un grupo de traducción y si me gustaría estar trabajando contigo

  8. hola, yo lo venia traduciendo al español a partir del volumen 5, por motivos de la universidad venia lento, aca esta el link. te agradeceria si quieres compartirlo por favor https://animeytraducciones.wixsite.com/novelas-ligeras/machine-doll

    • Hola, al parecer hay otra persona también que está interesada en traducirlo al español que tienen disponibilidad de tiempo, así que por ahora voy a ver qué más opciones hay o aparecen antes de decidir compartir alguna versión.
      Saludos!

  9. Sorry to bother, but would you be interested in joining Foxaholic?

    We have no requirements on updates schedule (post as rarely as you want!) and you are free to translate whatever you want while making money through the ad revenue generated on the translations you post. You are more than welcome to translate projects for Foxaholic while maintaining your personal translation site. For more info, see here: http://foxaholic.com/join-us/

    If not, then thank you for your contributions to the translation community!

    • Hello! Thank you for your kind offer. The idea sounds interesting, but I don’t plan to join any other group for the time being just because of how I manage my time. Regardless, I may consider the idea in the future, depending on how things develop.

  10. Gracias por tu trabajo!!
    Tengo una pregunta, ¿ Que pasa con el Volume 0 ”Shadow Moon”? Hace poco conocí que existe dicho volumen, hasta las fotos que trae pero ninguna información acerca del libro.
    Me alegra que hayas vuelto a trabajar con esta novela y te deseo lo mejor para tus metas y objetivos personales.

    • Gracias por el apoyo. Por el momento ese volumen no está considerado para ser traducido. Recuerdo haberlo leído hace años pero no conservé la data, y no tengo acceso a esos volúmenes de nuevo.

Leave a comment